Icey Winter Wedding!

I love a cold theme that’s warmed up with all the love and celebration of a wedding! When you think of winter, I think of light blues, dark blues, whites, silvers, pine cones and hot chocolate! Let’s start with an inspiration board.Uplight your ceremony with blue to give the feeling of a winter wonderland, like in the picture on the right.  The tall leafless trees give the ultimate feeling of winter.  If you’re seeking less of a theme wedding and just want to incorporate some winter accents, use ceremony ideas like the picture on the left, I love the simplicity of this one.  These are just a couple ceremony pictures to generate ideas, the options are endless!  Details, details, details! You can have so much fun with details, like snowflake bobbi pins, a fur wrap, or just a touch of fur on the groom/groomsmen will add such a great touch!

Here are a couple fun options for centerpieces, if you want to to stick to the winter wonderland theme go for more color in your centerpiece like the on on the right.  If you want more drama and glamour go big, tall, and fabulous like the centerpieces on the left (gorgeous! click to enlarge!).  A big trend right now is hanging the extra sparkles on the centerpieces, I find it tacky sometimes, but in this case it brings the vision of icicles on the centerpieces which works seamlessly!

Have fun with table assignments and settings! The ideas above work great with this color scheme and theme. I love the idea of the white christmas ornament, I would even put the bride and grooms name and date of wedding on the bottom so when your guests use the ornament later on, they remember your special day! Last but not least let’s look at some dessert options! My tummy is rumbling already thinking about dessert, and it’s only noon right now!  The dessert options below I love! They span across any budget, from cute cupcakes, to upscale wedding cakes.  Again I love simple and elegant, so my favorite is the all white cake accented with the brown branch. I would also have hot chocolate with heart shaped marshmallows served at this time for your guests, just to give it a little something extra, shown on the right courtesy of  the Wedding Bee.

About Sierra Smart

I've worked alongside one of the top ten event planners in LA, I've planned my own beautiful and successful events and now I work for a fabulous resort in the wedding and corporate events department. You could say I started my career as a teenager working in catering for social events. I quickly climbed the ladder and found myself intrigued with the event planning industry. I then decided to take a chance on Hollywood. I assisted and planned many successful events in tinsel town including non-profit, celebrity, and many special events. I went back to school as SDSU to further my education in this field. I now take pride in sharing the ideas and fascinating finds that I come across in this industry via blogging!
This entry was posted in All Posts, Weddings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

